Toddler Backpack

When Liv started to show interest in packing her own things too when we would go somewhere (or also when we wouldn’t go anywhere) a while ago, I decided it was the right time to make her a toddler backpack.

dsc06453-2

I saw this pattern from Made by Rae, which seemed to be a fine one, so I decided it would be easier to try the pattern rather than trying to make your own.

Though from the beginning on, it seemed like it would come out a little too big for my slender girl, I wanted to see how it would look when finished. So I just went with the original pattern without changing it. Even though, it turned out I was right. It is somewhat too big for her. But fortunately not too big so it would be unusable for us.

dsc06456-2

dsc06466-2

I bought this fabric from Art Gallery, called Hello Bear, Hello Forest, which I loved ever since I first saw it. I always wanted to use it for something, but it was cotton fabric and the animals are too big to be used as something for Liv to wear (and I rarely make other things than clothes… exception is this toddler backpack and the Christmas gift series that is still a work in progress to be put on the blog). So I was waiting for a chance to use this lovely fabric. And this seemed perfect for it.

dsc06449-2

Have I ever told you how I love Art Gallery fabrics? No, I do not get any commission or free stuff or anything else from them or anyone else. This is purely me telling you about my experience. They are so soft and wonderful, good quality and nice designs… I just love them. Every single one I ever bought was wonderful.

dsc06460-2

But back to the backpack. So I used the pattern and went pretty much what it said… Well, ok, I rarely read instructions, which can backfire on me sometimes. I think I had a moment here too, where I did something and only after did I look up something in the instructions, only to find I should have done it the other way round. But whatever.

dsc06491

Because the Art Gallery fabric is rather thin though, I put a sturdier plain white cotton fabric in the inside. I probably might have used even some more reinforcement as a middle layer, so it would hold form better. But it’s ok even as it is, I don’t miss it that much.

dsc06463-2

Though a little bit too big yet for Liv’s slender back, we still love it. She even wants to take it with her somewhere once in a while, or she just packs it with toys at home and plays that she’s going somewhere. And it even served us well to put just enough toys and books to take with us on two vacations. So one might say it serves its purpose.

backpack

I plan on making another, smaller one. Though, who knows if she won’t rather grow into the size of this one before I will get to do that. But we shall see. :-)

Leave a Reply

