DIY Stuffed Fabric Whale

The weather seems like it’s turning slowly towards spring, even though it would much more suit me to be winter for just a little while longer. I’ve been very busy (and tired) these last few weeks, so let me catch up on things I’ve wanting to post since December. Ok, since Christmas.

My nephew loves fishes. Loves is probably a bit of a mild word. I should rather say he’s obsessed with fishes. Although I’m not sure if it’s just me or if his obsession is getting weaker. Anyway.

dsc06425

When I was trying to think about something what to give him for Christmas, it always came down to very few things I could think of he would really like and enjoy (and didn’t already have). And somehow it seemed so much more important to me to make something  (special) for him, rather than buying an expensive toy, even though he doesn’t know the difference nor can appreciate it yet since he’s not even 2 and half (and who knows if he ever will, since he may rather loose interest in it sooner than he might appreciate it). Still here I was, wanting to make something for him, and what else other than something to do with fishes.

dsc06443

Quite by chance I came upon this wonderful DIY denim whale tutorial by Valaan Villapaita on pinterest while browsing through some random things, and it got me hooked right away.

So here’s my version of it.

dsc06431

You might or might not find the fabric I used familiar. It’s the one I customized by dyeing when I was doing the little stuffed Rhino. I still had some leftover bits from that, which seemed just perfect for a whale.

dsc06436

Unlike the tutorial, I stuffed also the tail and fins. The denim of the original whales might be thicker and less lacking in stuffing, but the thin cotton I used for my (nephew’s) whale just seemed too empty and lifeless without it. Also I just drew the eyes with a textile pen, because I didn’t want to sew it on, nor did I have a suitable button I could use.

dsc06962

Well. He seems like he likes it, so that’s all I could ever hope for. And I’m glad.

dsc06945

Liv seemed to be a little jealous, also wanting such a whale. Oh, my dear girl, I should kick myself in the butt and finish some of those things I’ve wanted to do for you for some time already too.

(I also made a Montessori ball for his little sister, my lovely little niece, but I don’t have a photo of that… But that I knew from the beginning I would want to do for her. I guess that might become a kind of tradition for new babies in our family. :-)

One thought on “DIY Stuffed Fabric Whale

Leave a Reply

