Woolen Hooded Scarf GIVEAWAY

Hello everyone and a belated Happy New Year to you all!

I hope you had a good start into this new year.
dsc06856
Mine is much more tired than I would like it to be. My pregnancy has turned to its last trimester, my body is getting big, my energy is way lower than I would even like to admit and my mind would like to do so many things yet before the new little addition to our family will come and mix up things at home. Not to mention I might start thinking slowly about adjusting things at home to a new baby and getting things for him together. But I still feel like there’s a lot of time for that ’till April.
While it is still winter and it’s something you might want to use, I am announcing my next GIVEAWAY!
dsc06794
I´m giving away this cute little hoodie-scarf with ears!
dsc06811
So I admit, there is one pretty much just like that (probably) walking around the world. I hope nobody minds it is not quite a one-of-a-kind thing.
dsc06770
I got a little crazy before this Christmas and suddenly decided I would make a lot of our Christmas presents. I am not sure I should or really want to admit this here, but it was partly because we were not in a good financial place and I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on presents, especially on which I didn’t know they would bring really joy or be useful. So I decided to make as many as possible. Some things I had to buy fabrics for, but some were made out of my stash of fabrics. And in the end I was actually glad I did DIY them. I’m not sure how they were perceived by those they were given to, sometimes I wonder if they weren’t seen as “cheap”, but to me they actually felt like they had a bigger value in the end. At least to me as a giver, because I did after all spend more thought on what and how to do them, given the energy into them to actually make them, put much more hope into them that the one it was given to would hopefully like them at least a little bit.
dsc06910
So anyway. Back to this hooded scarf.
I made one as a Christmas present for my 10 year old niece  I have not really seen in 4 years. I actually had no idea what to give her. And then I thought.. Well, this would be fun. Even I would think it’s fun to wear and I’m a grown up. Though I’m not sure if girls of 10 think it’s still fun. But hey, she doesn’t have to wear it if she doesn’t like it. I never got to hear if she does, we don’t live very near each other.
dsc06776
I bought this dark violet woolen fabric, which is kind of serious on it’s own, and for the inside a fluffy soooooft white plush, which breaks up the seriousnes and makes it pretty playful. Also, as you can see, I added those bear-ears, which makes it even more playful.
dsc06935
You might’ve noticed it’s a bit wonky on the front on the photo, but I already took care of it and fixed that, if you wonder.
I used the hoodie part of this Bimaa hoodie pattern which also has an additional ears pattern template you can download here, If you want.
Then I just made the sides of the hoodie longer to make a shawl out of it.
I added about 80 cm/ 32 inches to length and made them about 15 cm/6 inches wide. I wanted it to be long enough, so you could wrap it around nicely if you wanted to.
dsc06881
So when I finished the present, there was just enough fabric left to make another such. I thought I´d make one for Liv, but it is somewhat too big for her yet. Though it looks cute on her even big, I thought I´d rather give it to one of you who would like to make use of it :-)
dsc06834
Liv will be 3 years in two months and her head circumference is 50cm, just for approximate size reference. But since I made it originially for a 10 year old, there should be a wide enough range for anyone who might be interested in this little piece.
So let me know in the comments section here or on my Facebook page if you’d like to be the owner of this hoodie-shawl! You have time until the end of this week, that is until SATURDAY, 4.2.2017, on Sunday we will announce who the winner is of this GIVEAWAY.
dsc06912
Oh and just so you know. Even though it’s a bit big on Liv, her head was nice and warm when I took it off, even though it was an icy and windy day when I was making those photographs. So don’t worry if it should be big for your little one.
Have a beautiful winter!
3 thoughts on “Woolen Hooded Scarf GIVEAWAY

  1. that hoodie shawl is such a good idea!!
    but i just wanna say about diy presents – my experience is, that it’s 2 kinds of people who can REALLY appreciate a diy gift – first, your mommy :))) and second, people who also make things themselves (or really want to but lack the talent or time or whatever).
    which is really sad when you (me) put so much thought into a diy present and then they don’t appreciate it…. but oh well, maybe it would be the same with a bought gift? :)

    Like

  2. Thanks! :-) Yes, I guess you’re right about DIY presents… but on the other hand, I kinda think it’s the same with bought presents. Unless you know exactly what the person you’re buying it for wants, you never know if they will like/appreciate it… So in the end it probably doesn’t matter :-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

