Art Nouveau Corset… kind of…

I’d like to continue in the mood of historical clothes for another moment and share something else I’ve made some time ago. In a time when I was still young, thin and beautiful, haha…

Fate smiled upon me and for a few days I got a true original Art Nouveau Corset into my hands… and was able to take it home with me. I love historical clothing. It is one of my passions. So to be able to hold- and take home!- a piece was… awesome. Anyway. While I had it, I drafted its pattern, and tried to reconstruct it later. Of course, with alterations to fit it to my body. And this is what came out.

DSC05936-Edit

I chose a classic look for my corset. I used white cotton, though it had a little bit of stretch, so it must have had something added. As an embellishment I took a dark brown lace, bias tape for the hems, and lacing.

DSC05975-Edit

I was so happy how it turned out. Like the nice, clean look and the contrasting details…

SONY DSC

Fun fact. The whole corset was actually meant to be exactly reverse. It had garters instead of straps. After I made my pattern and returned the original corset it took a little while until I sat down to make my corset. I have NO idea why I turned it the other way round… Somehow I remembered it that way… And I realized what I was doing only later, once I was already almost finished. So I just went with it. How silly of me. But it works this way just as well :-)

DSC05984

I am actually preparing to make another- Victorian- corset soon… Hopefully I won’t be delaying it for too long because of other projects, so you might read about that some time soon. I wish I could post other corsets I’ve made… for example a nice gothic underbust corset I’ve made for a friend. But she never gave me those promised photos of her in it… :-/

Leave a Reply

