Flower Girl’s Toddler Wedding Dress

My wonderful brother got married this June. I am so happy for him and for our new gained sister. I had the honour to make her wedding dress for that occasion. I hope I shall be posting about that soon as well, once I have all the pictures I want for it. Anyway.. out of the little bit of rest fabric that remained from the wedding gown, I made a little flower girl’s dress. It was just enough for what I needed. :-)

SONY DSC

I wanted Liv’s dress to be a kind of reference to the bride’s dress not only by the fabric used, but also in design. But not to be an exact tiny replica of the wedding gown, as some do (or so I was told by someone, though I never saw it myself). All the design and patterns were made by myself.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The fabric I used was an off-white satin, over which came an off-white/creme chiffon on the skirt and a light yellow chiffon on the top. The bride had the yellow only around her waist, but they had a yellow-white-black theme on the whole wedding, so I thought I could use a little bit more yellow on Liv.

Suddenly I realized how weird it is to write about the flower-girl’s dress without seeing the bride’s dress, so here’s a little sneak-peak. At least it will give you an idea what I’m talking about.

SONY DSC

The bride’s dress had a long train. I loved that train I did for her, I have to pat myself on the shoulder for that :-) I wouldn’t want to make a long dress for Liv, since she was learning to walk at that time and definitely needed something that wouldn’t make it harder for her. So I made a hi-low hem on the skirt. With a train, actually, in the back. It made her almost look ethereal, if that’s possible with a toddler, as it flew behind her. Oh, did I mention the whole wedding was on an old castle-ruin? Simon and Luke, the two sons of the pastor ordaining the wedding, dubbed her the princess of the castle (that they came to rescue from the big dragon). :-)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

On the top, over the yellow chiffon, I hand-stitched parts of the bride’s lace (she had it as top layer over her dress), which I liked the most.

SONY DSC

Since it was going to be really hot, I made the sleeves only out of the thin chiffon, so that I could put the lace-y part over it :-)

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I actually wanted to remove the V-part on the front top that goes over the skirt at the last minute. Thought it would look better without it. But there were so many things to prepare, I didn’t get to do it anymore. I don’t mind though, I think it looks great with or without it.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

As accessoires, Liv had that wonderful flower-y headband (which she would not want to have on her head on the wedding day), which I bought at H&M and those beautiful shoes my mother purchased at Monsoon.

SONY DSC

One thought on “Flower Girl’s Toddler Wedding Dress

Leave a Reply

